The Goose Girl (The Books Of Bayern 1)

Posted: October 22, 2009 in Reviews
Tags: , , , ,


Book : Goose Girl (Books Of Bayern 1)
Author : Shannon Hale
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s Books
Category: Young Adult , Fantasy
My Rating: 4 out of 5

Synopsis (From Good Reads):

She was born with her eyes closed and a word on her tongue, a word she could not taste.

is helpless and cannot persuade anyone to assist her. Becoming a goose girl for the king, Anidori-Kiladra Talianna Isilee, Crown Princess of Kildenree, spends the first years of her life under her aunt’s guidance learning to communicate with animals. As she grows up Ani develops the skills of animal speech, but is never comfortable speaking with people, so when her silver-tongued lady-in-waiting leads a mutiny during Ani’s journey to be married in a foreign land, AniAni eventually uses her own special, nearly magical powers to find her way to her true destiny.

From the Grimm’s fairy tale of the princess who became a goose girl before she could become queen, Shannon Hale has woven an incredible, original, and magical tale of a girl who must find her own unusual talents before she can lead the people she has made her own.

Review:
Fairy tales are for little girls. Right? Not always. Sometimes , adults like me happen to take up these stories and thoroughly enjoy them. Shannon Hale’s take on Grimm’s Goose Girl makes a delightful read.We all know the Goose Girl story but here it’s presented in a more believable way with realistic touches to turn of events.

Ani’s development from a quite child to girl who knows her mind and does what is right is one of the best character development I have seen. It took me a while to get in to the story and also to understand Ani but the tightly woven plot kept me gripped.

A talent of animal speech is not a requirement for the post of a queen . It’s is something you would rather not have. But Ani can’t help it as she is gifted with it. It is this gift of hers that keep her away from her rightful authority over the throne and makes her politically very intelligent mother to send her off as the bride to crown prince of Bayern. Little does Ani know the journey she is embarking on is the one that will bring her face to face with some of the best and worst kind of people and in the process moulding her in to a person , her mother would have wanted to have as a queen.

Affection, love , friendship, betrayal and loyalty are well sown in to the book which made me want to finish it in one sitting. While reading it I was wanting good things for Ani, wanting her to have a life she so much deserves , feeling how long will it be until justice is done. Such is the impact of the book that you get totally involved in it.

This was my first Shannon Hale book and I know it won’t be the last as I have Enna Burning waiting on my book shelf.

Comments
  1. Sheila (bookjourney) says:

    This sounds good. I really enjoy books on fairy tales… I think for the most part they are brilliant!

  2. Tricia says:

    Princess Academy and The Book of a Thousand Days are my favorites of hers. Check them out too!

  3. Alyce says:

    The only Shannon Hale book I have read was Princess Academy and I loved it. I plan to read more of her books in the future.

  4. Veens says:

    God! I have never read any of her books. This one sounds really good! once in a while a break and this book would be just perfect… i like the plot :)