My Favorite Reads-June 4

Posted: June 4, 2009 in Uncategorized


Alyce at At Home With Books has started this new feature of My Favorite Reads every thursday.Nice concept . Here, books that are on the bookshelf ,that have been read longtime ago but haven’t been reviewed will be introduced. I rummaged through my book pile and found one book that I feel has been read and loved by all during childhood, but not sure if anybody has gone back to it since then.

My choice for this week is A Bear Called Paddington by Micheal Bond. I know its a kids book but when you start reading it now,after so many years , it definitely brings back really nice memories and also momentarily makes you forget that you are all grown up now and are not supposed to be seen with this 🙂

Synopsis from the back cover of the book :

Mr and Mrs Brown first met Paddington-a most endearing bear from darkest Peru- on a railway platform in London.A sign hanging around his neck said, ” Please look after this bear.Thank you.”So that is just what they did.

From the very first night when he attempted his very first bath and ended up nearly flooding the house ,he was seldom far from imminent danger.Jonathan and Judy were delighted with this havoc and even Mr. and Mrs. Brown had to admit life seemed little more filled with adventure with a bear in the house.

Paddington celebrated his 50th birthday last year and a 50th anniversary edition was brought out by Houghton Mifflin Company for the first time with colour illustrations by the original illustrator Peggy Fortnum ( really nice illustrations)

This cute bear has captivated the imagination of children for half a century now and the theme is still appealing.If you find literature for children fascinating or if you read out to your kids ,this must make it to your top 10 reads.

Comments
  1. Pratima says:

    nice blog u have! 🙂 Looking forward for more reviews…added few books from ur review to my wishlist!

  2. Shona says:

    @ Pratima- thanks 🙂 I saw you have Midnight's Children on your wishlist .Please tell me after u finish it.I haven't got the courage to pick it up yet 🙂

  3. PM says:

    Nice reads…all the books in your classics challenge are in my wish list

  4. Tonya says:

    OMG! We have the same layout! OH NO! hehehe. I haven't seen anyone else with it but I guess I shouldn't be so surprised, it's a beautiful one. I have a background for mine though so it's a LITTLE different. LOL

    I love this meme and am looking at everyone else's. Check out mine if you like:

    http://shonasbookshelf.blogspot.com/2009/06/my-favorite-reads-june-4.html

  5. Tonya says:

    Oh jeez, I posted your because I copied it to get here. Here's mine: http://storytimewithtonya.blogspot.com/2009/06/my-favorite-reads-samaria-series.html

  6. Bonnie says:

    Paddington Bear is a great book to feature in this fun meme! He's a special character. I don't remember reading the books when I was a child but did read them to my son who loved them. Thanks for visiting my blog, your's looks lovely and I am adding it to my google reader!

  7. Shona says:

    @Bonnie-Ya I so love that cute bear.Was lucky enough to have the book as a child.Still preserved that old book.

  8. Jenners says:

    Great choice!! Seeing that cover took me back in time. I loved Paddington — I found him very exotic because had things like wellingtons and took tea — which to a little girl living in New Jersey sounded very mysterious and amazing! Thanks for your visit … I just love this new meme!

  9. Shona says:

    @Jenners – Paddington still brings back wonderful memories.