Vanity Fair : Movie Vs Book

Posted: June 6, 2009 in Movies
Tags:

Having read and reviewed the book Vanity Fair recently ,after many years since having first read it, I thought , how much of the details of the plot I had missed the first time round. I was in school that time ,so can’t blame myself.

The thing that actually reminded me of the book was the movie Vanity Fair starring Reese Witherspoon (one of my fav ) directed by Mira Nair,which I watched a month back.I know it was released yrs ago. I hadn’t watched it before (Nothing against the movie πŸ™‚ I watch movies at my leisure ,sometimes long after their release and seriously try to avoid watching movies which are book adaptations. )Somehow I ended up watching this one . Big Mistake! ! I knew I should have stuck to the book when I saw that all of the director’s efforts were making Becky Sharp a symbol of women power,which she definitely wasn’t.Atleast not in a positive ,justifying sort of way.She is one of the best liked anti heroines of all time .She must have been left that way.Here she was being portrayed as a feminist and was being justified too. To top it, Amelia Sedley ,who in the book is naive and sweet was somewhat of a dim in the movie. The dances and the gory reddish sets they used for the effect didn’t help in anyway. As if this wasn’t enough we even got a alternate ending. No thank you..Very happy with the book ending.

Creative liberty the film makers take is acceptable as long as it doesn’t take off the charm of the book but its horrible when they slash it up and trivialise the vital plot . I know its difficult to get a 700-800 pg book turned into a 3 hour movie without making changes in them but that must not leave the viewer complaining.

Now there can be good adaptations too , like the BBC Book adaptations. I watched that one just for the sake of comparing πŸ™‚ Result: Absolutely loved it.Natasha Little as Becky Sharp was perfect.Beautiful and cunning. True to the book for most of the part , it brought out the essence wonderfully.Thackeray would have liked it,I am sure.Other actors too were great and aptly cast.This did make me feel better.

So the end result: 1 book 2 movies .Thrash the first one Watch the second one

On second thoughts, go read the book πŸ˜‰

Comments
  1. Vaman says:

    I have watched this BBC book adaptation.It was better than the movie ..

  2. Shona says:

    So someone has similar opinions after all.Did u watch any other adaptations in the series?