Book Awards Reading Challenge III

Posted: June 16, 2009 in Uncategorized



I have very often avoided reading award winning books. I used to think that those were meant for immensely intellectual sort of readers who can find the hidden meaning out of the lines which sometimes make no sense to a common person.I was so wrong.Really , really wrong. When I finished God Of Small Things by Arundhati Roy I realised how prejudiced I had been about the reading choices. So I am plunging head on in to this Book Awards III Reading Challenge.

This Challenge being hosted at Book Awards Reading Challenge last for 5 months, from July 1 through December 1, 2009.

Rules :

  1. Read 5 books from 5 different awards during July 1, 2009 through December 1, 2009.
  2. Overlaps with other challenges are permitted.
  3. Choices don’t have to be posted right away, and lists may be changed at any time.
  4. ‘Award winners’ is loosely defined; make the challenge fit your needs.

Here’s my list ( though I might change one or two books depending on what’s available at my library)

Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami (World Fantasy Award 2006)

Beloved – Toni Morrison (Pulitzer Prize 1988)

Half Of A Yellow Sun – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (Orange Prize 2007)

Kaddish For A Child Not Born – Imre Kertesz (Nobel Prize 2002)

The Calcutta Chromosome by Amitav Ghosh (Arthur C Clarke Award 1997)

Comments are closed.