My Favourite Reads -June18

Posted: June 18, 2009 in Uncategorized

This week’s choice for My Favorite Reads hosted by Alyce At Home With Books is Erich Segal’s Doctors.


This book is a favourite for many reasons. One of the main reasons being I identify with many aspects of the story as I am doctor myself. The medical school years portrayed by Segal bring back some really good memories. The struggles and dilemmas that form the central theme are the ones that every doctor goes through almost every other day. There is a euthanasia moral debate which is still the main agenda in many of the medical conferences. Then there is the story of friendship between Laura and Barney , the central characters who struggle to come to terms with the hardships of their profession along side handling really challenging personal lives.

Book summary from the back jacket:

Erich Segal sweeps us into the lives of the Harvard Medical School’s class of 1962.
His stunning novel reveals the making of doctors–what makes them tick, scheme, hurt . . . and love. From the crucible of med school’s merciless training through the demanding hours of internship and residency to the triumphs–and sometimes tragedies–beyond, “Doctors” brings to vivid life the men and women who seek to heal but who must first walk through fire. At the novel’s heart is the unforgettable relationship of Barney Livingston and Laura Castellano, childhood friends who separately find unsettling celebrity and unsatisfying love–until their friendship ripens into passion. Yet even their devotion to each other, even their medical gifts may not be enough to save the one life they treasure above all others. “Doctors” –heartbreaking, witty, inspiring, and utterly, grippingly real–is a vibrant portrait that culminates in a murder, a trial . . . and a miracle.

To an outsider its a view in to the turbulent lives of their healers and to the insiders its a recounting of the past experiences and a wake call that they need to take.

Here’s one of my favorite passage from the book:

‘Medical school provides the best substantiation for Charles Darwin’s Theory of natural selection.For here we see in its cruelest form the survival of the fittest. Not the smartest as one should expect. But the fittest to cope with the inhuman pressures, the demands made not only on the brain but on the psyche…………’

Its a gripping page turner all the way. Do read it ..

Comments
  1. Alyce says:

    I didn't know that you were a doctor – very cool! Is this book like any of the medical tv shows? I used to really like watching ER, but have kind of a sensitive stomach, so eventually gave up watching. I love the drama, but not the gross stuff. But when I read somehow none of that bothers me. 🙂

  2. Kim says:

    I too love medical shows but strangely haven't read many medical books. Erich Segal is an author whose name I haven't heard in some time. Thanks for the review!
    *smiles*
    Kim

  3. Shona says:

    @ Alyce- Its much better than ER. Its not all cutting and sewing stuff but something you will want to read again.More on emotions and stuff.. Its a good book. Do read it.

    @ Kim – You are welcome.Like I said its not all medicine in it.

  4. Shoshana says:

    I love this book myself. I read it when I was pre-med. But then, I just plain love Erich Segal's books. This is a toss up with Prizes. I do enjoy Isabel's character.