Review : Breakfast At Tiffany’s

Posted: June 21, 2009 in Reviews


Book: Breakfast At Tiffany’s
Author: Truman Capote
ISBN:0140274111
ISBN-13:9780140274110,978-0140274110
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Penguin Group (UK)
Number of Pages: 157

From The Back Cover :

“With her tousled blond hair and upturned nose, dark glasses and chic black dresses, she is top notch in style and a sensation wherever she goes. He brownstone apartment vibrates with Martini-soaked parties as she plays hostess to millionaires and gangsters alike. Yet Holly never loses sight of her ultimate goal – to find a real life place like Tiffany’s that makes her feel at home. Immortalized in a film starring Audrey Hepburn, Truman Capote’s Breakfast at Tiffany’s is full of sharp wit and in its exuberant cast of characters vividly captures the restless, madcap era of early 1940s New York. “

My Views :

I don’t want to own anything until I know I’ve found the place where me and things belong together. I’m not quite sure where that is just yet. But I know what it’s like…. It’s like Tiffany’s…. Not that I give a hoot about jewelry. Diamonds, yes. But it’s tacky to wear diamonds before you’re forty…

Now when Holly Golightly says this, you believe her. As much as you think she is lying about her past life , you have to believe her . You believe her sincerest desire to have the best of both the worlds. You wonder what’s with her name ..But still you believe her..

This the only Truman Capote I have read ,but I fell in love with the book. Not because of the movie ,because its such a lovely book. Holly is a call girl , a high society,older men preferring kind and she is hardly an adult herself (nineteen something hardly). She is lives life the way she wants to and tells people things they wouldn’t want to hear about themselves but that’s how she is. We get to meet her through her neighbour ,that’s our narrator, who befriends her and their frequent meetings give us a glimpse of Holly’s life.

So what’s her fascination with Tiffany’s?? Here’s what Holly has to say about it ,” What I’ve found does the most good is just to get into a taxi and go to Tiffany’s. It calms me down right away, the quietness and the proud look of it; nothing very bad could happen to you there, not with those kind men in their nice suits… ” Now reading that line made me kind of sad. She needs to call a place home but hasn’t yet found it but she is not complaining she is just keeping a look out for that ,something special.You got to sympathise with her.

Narrator realises that there is more to Miss Golightly than that meets the eye but she hardly ever lets anything slip out. Its thru people that come in to her life ,that we are introduced to the real Holly..But do we really get to know her? That would be a good question. Enigma , was my word for her..I so loved her character. When I finished reading it, I just couldn’t get myself to believe that it had ended because it leaves you wanting for more of her quirkiness , more of her smart comments , you desperately want to know what happened to her . Because by the end of the book you are so into Holly’s life .. Now that is exactly what makes it a very highly recommended read..

Almost everybody has seen Audrey Hepburn in the movie and loved her but when you read it ,you will like her even more.Trust me I did..

Comments
  1. Alyce says:

    I've got this one on my TBR list. I'm glad to hear that you liked it so much!

  2. Shona says:

    @ Alyce-Its a fun book.You ll enjoy reading it.