Review :The Forest Of Hands And Teeth

Posted: June 24, 2009 in Reviews, Young Adult Book Challenge 2009

Book: The Forest Of Hands And Teeth
Author: Carrie Ryan
ISBN:0385906315
ISBN-13:9780385906319,978-0385906319
Binding: Library Binding
Publishing Date: 2009/03/10
Publisher: Delacorte Press Books For Young Readers
Number of Pages: 320

Book Cover Says :

In Mary’s world, there are simple truths.

The Sisterhood always knows best.

The Guardians will protect and serve.

The Unconsecrated will never relent.

And you must always mind the fence that surrounds the village. The fence that protects the village from the Forest of Hands and Teeth.

But slowly, Mary’s truths are failing her. She’s learning things she never wanted to know about the Sisterhood and its secrets, and the Guardians and their power. And, when the fence is breached and her world is thrown into chaos, about the Unconsecrated and their relentlessness.

Now she must choose between her village and her future, between the one she loves and the one who loves her. And she must face the truth about the Forest of Hands and Teeth. Could there be life outside a world surrounded by so much death?

My Views:

I am not a zombie book fan. Its definitely not my favourite genre. Now you might want to ask why did I even read this book then? My colleague with whom I share the examination room at the hospital had gone outside for coffee and had left her book on the table and I just picked up to see the blurb on the back cover. ‘Zombie book’ I said to myself , not my type of book but really beautiful cover. I had seen the cover on some of the blogs either on the reading list or on the giveaways so I started reading just out of curiosity.

I finished the book and you must have guessed it by now as I am reviewing it here. My friend was kind enough to lend it to me as she was almost done with it .So I read the book all through the journey home and finished it in almost 2hours.

This book holds you from the first line.Writing is beautiful and appealing . Here’s a sample :
As a child growing up, I learned in my lessons from the Sisters that just before the Return They—who They were is long forgotten—knew what was coming. They knew that something had gone horribly wrong and that it was only a matter of time before the Unconsecrated swarmed everywhere.”

What makes it a unstoppable read is the story line itself. Its never slow or mundane. It keeps moving ahead and you try to keep up with it. First I tried to figure out Mary’s strange world , then the people around her, her family , her friends , her village, the secretive sisterhood . It took me a while to assimilate and understand but when I got there I just wanted to know why was all this happening in Mary’s village and what was the secret behind The Forest Of Hands And Teeth, the behind the Unconsecrated. Mary’s curiosity helps us find many answers. For the zombie fans there is action , quite a lot. What else did you expect ? It has some gory descriptive passages but its never overdone, just enough to make it a somewhat scary read.

Mary, the narrator comes across as strong willed young woman who even in the toughest and the hardest of the times shows extraordinary courage. Inquisitive and daring she takes us with her in her journey to find the truth about her world..

All through the book , I never lost interest and that’s a real plus point . Its a Young Adult Fiction but I think there is no harm in a adult reading it. Its enjoyable and gripping.

Author’s Website : Carrie Ryan

The Teen Book Video Award Finalist 2008 :

Comments
  1. Tricia says:

    I'm not a zombie fan either, but I did check this one out from the library. Your review has definitely made me want to read it more!

  2. One Swede Read says:

    In a thousand years, I never would have thought that cover to be on a zombie-book! 🙂

  3. Kristen says:

    I think I jumped once or twice during the book when I was disturbed by a phone call – it was always at the scarier parts too. Definitely a heart racing type of book. 🙂 I'm glad you enjoyed it! I loved it too! 🙂