My Favorite Read – June 25

Posted: June 25, 2009 in Uncategorized

This week’s choice for My Favorite Reads hosted by Alyce At Home With Books is Louisa May Alcott’s Good Wives .




Little Women by Louisa May Alcott has been read by almost all, but the same cannot be said about its sequel Good Wives. Though I like Little Women much more than this book , Good Wives being a sequel does a very good job of letting us know what happens to our favorite characters. The March girls have grown up and are moving in to the outside world and learning to lead life away from their parents protective surroundings. There are some surprises thrown in but the narrative is just like the first book. Sequels sometimes can spoil the taste for the original work but this book does complete justice. Actually after finishing this I even read off Little Men and Jo’s Boys which take the story forward and I have no regrets of doing that.

I think people who have read Little Women should read Good Wives..

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    Oh my goodness, I don't think I have every heard of this one by Alcott. I have heard of Jo's Boys and Little Men though. Thanks so much for spotlighting this one. I enjoy sequels-especially when the first one is such a character driven novel.
    *smiles*
    Kim

  2. Jenners says:

    Little Women is one of my all-time favorite books — but I do regret never continuing on. I do think I started something about Jo's school but it just didn't grab me. I'll have to check this out!

  3. Alyce says:

    I have read Little Women, Jo's Boys and most of Little Men, but have never heard of Good Wives. I don't know how I missed it. I'm going to have to read this one!

  4. Tonya says:

    I never read any of her other books. I read Little Women and loved it very much. Interestingly, my mother and I were just recently discussing Louisa May Alcott through email and she mentioned this that she found in Wikipedia:

    "Alcott based her heroine "Jo" on herself in "Little Women." But whereas Jo marries at the end of the story, Alcott remained single throughout her life. She explained her "spinsterhood" in an interview with Louise Chandler Moulton, "… because I have fallen in love with so many pretty girls and never once the least bit with any man."

    I thought this was interesting because, even as a child, I was simply surprised that Jo gets married. I didn't feel she was attracted to men. At that time, no one would have thought anything of it, but I've wondered if she lived in our time, would she have still married a man?

    Here's mine:

    http://storytimewithtonya.blogspot.com/2009/06/my-favorite-reads-american-gods.html

  5. noble beeyotch says:

    I have read Good Wives and also Little Men. It was so much fun to read about the whole life of those little girls