Review: Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret

Posted: June 27, 2009 in Young Adult Book Challenge 2009


Book: Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret
Author: Judy Blume
ISBN:0440404193
ISBN-13:9780440404194,978-0440404194
Binding: Paperback
Publishing Date: 1993/02/01
Publisher: Random House Children’s Books
Number of Pages: 160

Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret By Judy Blume

“No one ever told Margaret Simon that eleven-going-on- twelve would be such a hard age. When her family moves to New Jersey, she has to adjust to life in the suburbs, a different school, and a whole new group of friends. Margaret knows she needs someone to talk to about growing up-and it’s not long before she’s found a solution.”

The sixth grader Margaret Simon , on the threshold of puberty finds that she has too many questions and doubts. The one she has chosen, to ask her questions is none other than God. Her liberal parents have given her the choice to choose her religion when she is old enough to do so( That’s because , they belong to two different faiths .Margaret’s father is Jewish and mother is Christian). Till then Margaret is just struggling to make sense of it all. Having grandparents of two different faiths has left her thoroughly confused . They are not making it any easy for her by trying to coerce her, towards their respective sides.

Along with it she has the usual preteen problems , not wanting to be the last girl who gets her periods in her school group , wanting to have a curvy figure like the older girls and also wishing for a boyfriend πŸ™‚

The best part of the book is that it’s truthful. I remember being that age and all the emotions a twelve year old goes through. Book makes a real good read .Margaret is totally adorable. Her opinions and arguments are very well reasoned . I wish I had read this book during my preteen days but better late than never..

Comments
  1. Kathy says:

    It's a grea book, isn't it?

    I did read it as a "pre-teen" way back when :o)

    My daughter read it a few monthes ago as a "tween"…lol

    The more things change, the more they stay the same.

  2. Miss Remmers says:

    You and I have very different tastes in literature, but I always love checking in to see what you are reading and what you recommend.

    I'd like to invite you to be a guest reviewer for my own blog. (It's exciting I promise). Please check it out at the link below. If you are interested please email me. I look forward to hearing from you. I'd love your opinion.

    Miss Remmers

    http://reagan-review.blogspot.com/2009/06/looking-for-guest-reviewers.html

  3. Sheila DeChantal says:

    I actually loved Blume as a kid and I still have this book on my book shelf. Also tales of a 4th Grade Nothing and Otherwise Known as Sheila The Great.

  4. […] 3.Β  Are You There God ? It’s Me, Margaret – Judy Blume 4. Geek High – Piper Banks 5. Story Of A Girl – Sara Zarr […]