Teaser Tuesdays

Posted: June 30, 2009 in Uncategorized


This weekly meme is hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading . Anyone can play along. Follow these guidelines :

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR lists if they like your teasers!

My choice this week is Master And Commander (Aubrey Maturin Series) by Patrick O’Brian

‘It is curious that you should find foreign languages difficult, sir,’ said Mr Maturin, who had
no views to offer on the weather, ‘for it seems reasonable to suppose that a good ear for
music would accompany a facility for acquiring – that the two would necessarily run
together.’

Comments
  1. Vicki says:

    Never heard of this book, but love the teaser!

  2. Sassy Brit says:

    Oh, I know this one, but I haven't read it. Now I'm wondering if I can add this to my tbr pile! LOL

    Here is mine!

    Take care!

    Sassy
    🙂

  3. Lisa says:

    I'm assuming this is the source of the movie – should make a very interesting read.

    My teaser is here.

  4. Book Bird Dog says:

    I've always thought so too – an ear for music = foreign language skills. I guess you have to have a good memory too. Nice teaser.

  5. Erin says:

    Oh, Stephen!

  6. Teddyree says:

    I haven't heard of this book but I liked the teaser!

  7. avisannschild says:

    Good teaser! I've heard great things about this book.

  8. Lisa says:

    Is this the book connected to the movie with Russel Crowe? I've seen the movie and liked it and the books are always better! Hope you're enjoying it.

  9. dolcebellezza says:

    I've heard such good things about the film as well as the book! Thanks for reminding me to pick it up.

  10. Caty says:

    Ooh, I have this one in my TBR. I love the tone of this quote: I might just bump the book up nearer to the top of the pile now.

  11. kaye says:

    Interesting thought. I am here

  12. Mishel says:

    Insightful teaser. I can definitely see the connection. =) Great choice!

  13. Kristen says:

    Is this the book the movie was based off of? Sounds like a great book.

  14. Phyl says:

    I really like this teaser. I've never seen the movie, but I figured it had to be connected to this book.

    I'd never made the connection between general music and languages, but I can see how knowing music theory in particular might have a connection. Fascinating.

    Meanwhile, my own teaser is at Bookishgal.

  15. Alice Teh says:

    That's a nice teaser! I haven't watch the movie or read the book, though.