My Favorite Reads

Posted: July 8, 2009 in Uncategorized


Alyce from At Home With Books hosts My Favorite Reads every Thursday where you showcase a book , read long time back ,enjoyed it but haven’t blogged about.

My choice for this week is Jewels by Danielle Steel

From the book jacket :
On Sarah Whitfield’s seventy-fifth birthday, memories take her back to New York in the 1930s. To a marriage that ends after a year, leaving Sarah shattered. A trip to Europe with her parents does little to raise her spirits, until she meets William, Duke of Whitfield. In time, despite her qualms, William insists on giving up his distant right to the British throne to make Sarah his duchess and his wife.

On their honeymoon, the newlyweds buy an old French chateau, but not long after, the war begins. William joins the allied forces, leaving Sarah, their first child, an infant, and their second child on the way, in France. After the Nazi forces take over the chateau, Sarah continues to survive the terror and deprivation of the Occupation, unwavering in her belief that her missing-in-action husband is still alive.

After the war, as a gesture of goodwill, the Whitfields start buying jewels offered for sale by impoverished war survivors. With Sarah’s style and keen eye, the collection becomes the prestigious Whitfield’s jewelry store in Paris. Eventually, their jewelry business expands to London and Rome, as their family grows. Phillip, their firstborn, is stubborn and proud; Julian, their second son, is charming and generous and warm; Isabelle is rebellious and willful; and Xavier, unusual and untamed, is the final unexpected gift of their love. They each find their own way, but will be drawn to the great house of gems their parents built.

In Jewels, Danielle Steel takes the reader through five eventful decades that include war, passion, international intrigue, and the strength of family through it all.

My Views :

I know many people have stopped reading her books as the storyline has become quite repetitive but I chose this book as it somewhat different from what she has been writing recently.Also because this book got me started on reading trail of nearly 60 Danielle Steel books which take up a place of pride on my book shelf. Who doesn’t like romances and when you need so light, refreshing read , these books are the best medicine.

You will love Sarah Whitfield for her innocence initially and for her strength and determination in the later part of the book. Even though it’s a romance it is a page turner all through. Perfect book for leisurely reading.

Comments
  1. Heather J. says:

    I don't think I've ever read a Danielle Steel book but I HAVE seen a few movies based on her books – always a fun escape!

  2. Alyce says:

    I haven't ever read a Danielle Steel book, and I'm sure it's because of the reputation they've gotten.

    I love World War II books though, and this one sounds like it would be a really good read.

  3. Natalie W says:

    I've never read any of her books but do love the movies!
    I also awarded you the Kreativ Blogger award, hope thats ok!!
    Natalie :0)

  4. Sheila DeChantal says:

    I have read Steele, more so in my earlier reading years and not this one… she does have a few out there that are wonderful.

    Accident is my fav by her

  5. Jenners says:

    I read Danielle Steel back in the day but stopped reading her for the exact reason you mentioned … too formulaic. But she does what she does well and every so often, those books are a nice "palate" cleanser.

  6. Shona says:

    @ Heather J- Ya I have seen a couple of her movies based on books but reading is something I prefer .

    @Alyce- The war sequences and it's effect on Sarah's life has been brilliantly captured in words . U will like it.

    @Sheila-I loved Accident too.It had a really good stooryline.

    @Jenners- Ya 🙂 her books are good for that.