Review :Nick And Norah’s Infinite Playlist

Posted: July 9, 2009 in Young Adult Book Challenge 2009


Author: Rachel Cohn & David Levithan
Publisher: Random House Childrens Books
Pub. Date: August 2007
ISBN-13: 9780375835339
200pages
My Rating : 4 out of 5

Book available at Flipkart , Amazon, Indiebound

From The Book Cover:

It all starts when Nick asks Norah to be his girlfriend for five minutes. He only needs five minutes to avoid his ex-girlfriend, who’s just walked in to his band’s show. With a new guy. And then, with one kiss, Nick and Norah are off on an adventure set against the backdrop of New York City—and smack in the middle of all the joy, anxiety, confusion, and excitement of a first date.

This he said/she said romance told by YA stars Rachel Cohn and David Levithan is a sexy, funny roller coaster of a story about one date over one very long night, with two teenagers, both recovering from broken hearts, who are just trying to figure out who they want to be—and where the next great band is playing.

My views:

Its been days since I read something romantically funny and I realised I had made the right choice within 5 minutes of starting this book. If you love music and you love romance, you will not leave this book till your done.

Nick and Norah take turns telling the events that bring them together.Nick has been recently dumped by his girlfriend Tris. He hasn’t been able to get over her even though it’s more than 3 weeks now. Norah hasn’t seen her ‘The Ex‘ boyfriend Tal since he left for a kibbutz in south Africa dumping her for not being what he wants. She hasn’t got over him .

So what happens when Nick and Norah meet ? Fireworks.. A kiss that is meant to cause jealousy in Nick’s Ex turns out to be the beginning of a new bond. Both the characters are well written and the style of writing is so similar that we never once realise that it’s written by two people. What I loved the most are the music references in the book .

Another good point is the development of minor characters of the story.Tris (Nick’s Ex ), Dev( Nick’s Band’s lead singer ) are two characters to watch out for. Though the story takes place in the span of one night , all minor characters are sketched in a detailed manner. It’s important because through them we are able to understand Nick and Norah better.

It’s funny , witty and lovable . It’s a really refreshing read. Go for it..

Point to be noted : It’s reading age group is 15 years and above . Let me warn you that it has it’s share of mature content , sexual references. If you don’t care about that ,then go ahead what are you waiting for!!

Comments
  1. celi.a says:

    Thanks for a great review! I saw the movie last fall (was it that long ago?!) and loved it, so I've been meaning to get the book. Glad you enjoyed the romance.

  2. Tricia says:

    The language in this book was really hard for me to stomach, but I did enjoy the story. Perhaps I should try the movie?

  3. Shona says:

    @Tricia – That's true. It was publicized as YA book so I was a bit taken aback by the language.

    @celi.a- I liked the movie too. But it's always books for me:)

  4. Pratima says:

    I have never read anything in Romance, it's never been my genre…but looks like its fun! want to try something soon!!