2 States -The Story Of My Marriage

Posted: October 20, 2009 in Reviews
Tags: , ,


Book : 2 States- The Story Of My Marriage
Author : Chetan Bhagat
Publisher : Rupa & Co.
ISBN:8129115301
ISBN-13:9788129115300 ,978-8129115300

Synopsis :

Love marriages around the world are simple:

Boy loves girl. Girl loves boy.
They get married.

In India, there are a few more steps:

Boy loves Girl. Girl loves Boy.
Girl’s family has to love boy. Boy’s family has to love girl.
Girl’s Family has to love Boy’s Family. Boy’s family has to love girl’s family.
Girl and Boy still love each other. They get married.

Welcome to 2 States, a story about Krish and Ananya. They are from two different states of India, deeply in love and want to get married. Of course, their parents donโ€™t agree. To convert their love story into a love marriage, the couple have a tough battle in front of them. For it is easy to fight and rebel, but it is much harder to convince. Will they make it? From the author of blockbusters Five Point Someone, One Night @ the Call Center and The 3 Mistakes of My Life, comes another witty tale about inter-community marriages in modern india.

Review :

I have been a Chetan Bhagat fan ever since I had randomly picked up Five Point Someone authored by him at a book exhibition. It might not have been a modern day classic but it got me hooked to this new age Indian writer whose works have sincerity and simplicity which goes straight to the heart. One Night At The Call Center and The Three Mistakes Of My Life were read my me within a week of their release , so I just couldn’t resist getting hold of 2 States upon its arrival at my local book store. I must say I wasn’t disappointed.

Krish and Ananya , the protagonists are so much like thousands of other modern Indian couples who find out that convincing their respective parents for an inter caste marriage is a much tougher job than cracking an IIT entrance or getting admission into top management institute.
The best of the book is Krish ‘s interaction with his would be in laws . His frustration ,disappointment has been presented in a very honest manner and that’s praise worthy.

Chetan Bhagat has put in right amount of masala(spices), to keep the readers hooked on to it. The plot looks cinematic sometimes but by experience 75 % of people know that these kind of situations do arise in India. Modern India is yet to warm up towards inter caste inter state marriages and this is portrayed wonderfully in the book. A laugh riot at places and a few really emotional moments make it a great read.

I know I am praising this book too highly and some of them might just call it a run of the mill love story but the point is that, the way it is presented is really really good. It reminded me of some incidents that happened in my family when my cousin , a Maharashtrian got married to a Punjabi. For the record it took 1 and half year to convince both the set of parents ๐Ÿ™‚ and another 5 months for deciding on the marriage rituals ๐Ÿ™‚

If you get a chance to read this book do not miss out.

Comments
  1. Violet says:

    I liked his first books, not so much his second, I thought it was too childish.

    But I've heard good things about this book from people who don't like Chetan Bhagat too ๐Ÿ™‚

    I might give this a shot, thanks for your review.

  2. Jenners says:

    It sounds like a lot of work to pull off a marriage in India! I'm sure you really related to this plot as you had personal experience in your own family. I'm reading "Q&A" by Vikas Swarup right now and enjoying it quite a bit. Perhaps this author might be a good next step to discover more about India and its writers.

  3. Veens says:

    I read some -ve reviews, and didn't really want to read Chetan Bhagat's books. Well then I must read to find out. I might give it a try..

    God! i know inter caste, inter state.. mariages.. they are all big deals… well really big deals!