The Noah Confessions

Posted: November 2, 2009 in Reviews
Tags: , ,

Noah

Book: The Noah Confessions
Author: Barbara Hall
Binding: Paperback
Publishing Date: 2008/11/11
Publisher: Delacorte Press Books For Young Readers
Number of Pages: 215

Category: Young Adult

My Rating: 4 out of 5

My Review:

I have been reading quite a lot of YA recently and some seriously good YA at that. The Noah Confessions was no exception. An accidental find at my library (which has quite a good selection of Teen books ) I was intrigued on reading the summary at the back. I must say I was little put off with the cover though.

Lynnie Russo  is as difficult to handle as is any 16 yr old when her highly  expected birthday gift of a car , turns out to be a really ugly-looking bird charm bracelet. Every person in her school gets a new car when they turn sixteen. But her father has other plans. When she fails to understand his intention at not letting her have a car , and bunks her class to take a surfing lesson from a friend , he hands over a manuscript, saying that her mother , who died when Lynnie was a little girl ,wanted her to have this. Now ,Lynnie  is stuck with 2 gifts she doesn’t really want , an  ugly bracelet and an old set of letters written by her mom to some guy named Noah when she was a teen ager.

What follows is a Lynnie’s  journey in to her late mother’s childhood and teenage. Along the way , she uncovers a few family secrets she would rather not know and some that bring joy to her . All the time thinking did she really know the perfect  mother she idolizes .

It’s a really beautiful narrative with quite a storyline. I really liked the father daughter bond , that Lynnie and John Russo share. Even though she hates the gift he gives her , she still wears it so that he doesn’t feel bad. I am yet to see a teenager I know do that.

Her are a few lines from the book I really liked

He said, “Lynnie, Mommy is gone.” It was that simple. And part of me still blamed him just because he was the one who said it. I remember going very still and thinking, Don’t cry, don’t show anything. Because if you show something  it will be real, not just for you but for him. I started taking care of him right that moment.

And I hadn’t stopped. I didn’t know how to stop. Which was why I was wearing the stupid bird bracelet and why I hadn’t cried or complained as much as I wanted to about the car. I
had to let it go. He had been through enough and I was all he had.

Now  why didn’t I give this book a 5 on 5? Firstly , it did grow monotonous somewhere half way through, got a little philosophical for a YA.  That didn’t last long. It went back to fast and interesting within 4 to 5  of pages. Secondly , the cover. Come on , they could have done better than that. It has no connection whatsoever with the story , it’s a big put off so to say.

If not for these 2 little glitches , the book is a wonderful read.

Highly recommended for teens and adults alike

Comments
  1. Violet says:

    I love reading YA too and looks I have read a lot of it this year, it believe it’s the golden time for YA books. I’ll keep an eye out for this although I must say I’m a little wary of philosophical stuff.

  2. bermudaonion says:

    The book sounds good, but the cover turns me off too.

  3. divya says:

    Lots of YC books i see! I have been wanting to read the boy in striped pyjamas. Though this book seems interesting too.. Havent yet been caught in the YC swig