The Year Of The Intern

Posted: November 3, 2009 in Reviews
Tags: , ,

222998

Book: The Year Of The Intern
Author: Robin Cook
Binding: Paperback
Publishing Date: 1973/09/01
Publisher: Penguin Group
Number of Pages: 320
Source : Personal Copy
Category : Medical Fiction

My Rating : 4 out of 5

Medical fiction for me has always been one author Robin Cook. Ok, some of his books are way beyond medicine these days , reaching as far as outer space , ancient civilization and also aliens (ahem ) but he still holds the shining torch in this genre . Over the years I have read many of his medical mystery books but one book that is still close to my heart is his first book , The Year Of The Intern.

This book takes us through the one year Dr Peters spends interning. He faces the anxiety every new intern faces. The fear of going wrong when handling a patient. Fear of doing some silly mistakes in front of the nursing staff and more importantly in front of his patient thus proving his inadequacy , fear of being not good enough. This is the period the intern learns not just to come on his own but also to cover up for the mistakes done by his seniors. It’s a part of the job .Adding to that is the  near to nervous breakdown timings and the exhaustion. How can they expect people who don’t sleep for 48 hours be sane enough to talk , let alone save  some body’s life.  When this question is posed to the seniors the only answer got is ” We did it ,when we were your age , then why should you not be able to do it ?’ Quite an explanation isn’t it 🙂

It’s always said people who survive medical school prove that they are worthy of this profession but I have always maintained that a person who can survive his/ her internship and comes out of it with a sane mind and intact conscience can call himself worthy. Year of the intern is when the intern finds out that politics isn’t just left to politicians ; highly glorified care takers and healers too have their own game and if u don’t play by their rules , you cannot survive..

Robin Cook has given a very vivid description of that set up though at places he has become a bit philosophical but it is quite a good read..

Recommended to readers who love medical fiction

Comments
  1. Nish says:

    I love Robin Cook too. I have read most of his books – Fever and Coma were my favorites.

    I should try this one, I don’t think I remember it. From your description and review, it does not sound like a thriller, right?

  2. Shailu says:

    I remember reading this one and thinking this has happened to me. Some situations of emergency mentioned are the ones I myself have gone thru so many times.Good review

  3. Alyce says:

    I haven’t read any books by Robin Cook. I have to be in the mood for this sort of book, but highly prefer reading about this type of thing over watching it on tv. I had heard a few years ago that some places were thinking about changing the long hours that interns do because they couldn’t really cite a reason for it. Then I didn’t hear anything else about it. Hopefully someday they will fix it so that the people working on you in the hospital aren’t almost comatose from sleep (if you wouldn’t want them driving that way, why should they be ok to operate or dispense potentially lethal drugs).

  4. bermudaonion says:

    I’m a fan of Robin Cook’s books, too and I haven’t read this one. As a matter of fact, I’m not even sure I’ve ever seen it. I’ll have to look for it.

  5. manjiT says:

    i m reading this book presently.
    my med school results will be out any day, any moment from now. then i begin my internship if all things go well in the result. anxiety is killing me. and the glimpse of things to come is keeping me entertained till the results are out.