Quick Review : Silas Marner

Posted: November 4, 2009 in Quick Reviews
Tags: , ,

Lots and lots  of reviews  are pending (last count 25 ) and I needed a way to  get the job done , so I thought of this method. I had seen this format being used by Jenners in a  meme . I modified it a little to suit my reviews and here’s the result.

silas

Book: Silas Marner by George Eliot

Category : Classic

Protagonist : Silas marner

Summary of the book : Silas Marner , a wrongly accused  weaver makes a new home for himself at Raveloe   and comes to acquire a small fortune which he guards very dearly. When he gets robbed of his treasure he feels that nothing good can ever happen in his life. Until a little girl with golden hair ends up on his door step. The girl whom he names Eppie becomes the centre of his life only to be brought face to face with a reality that  threatens to take Eppie out of his life.

Things I liked about this book:

The idyllic life of Raveloe and the daily musings of the inhabitants has been captured in a heart warming way by Eliot.

Silas’s love for his daughter Eppie and his transformation from a loner to an active member in the community.

Things I disliked about the book : Nothing in particular

On my rating scale :4.5 to 5

I wish I had read this book long time back as it was a pleasant change to read something with a slow pace and characters so real that you can actually imagine them going about their jobs in that fashion.

Challenges for which the book is listed : Classics Challenge 2009

Fill In The Gaps 100 Project

Comments
  1. Veens says:

    I have this one in my pile, I seriously need to read it!

    And this is a cool format 🙂