Quick Review – Nefertiti

Posted: November 5, 2009 in Quick Reviews
Tags: , ,

Nefertitiuksmall

Book: Nefertiti by Michelle Moran

Category : Historical Fiction

Protagonists : Nefertiti and Mutnodjmet (Mutny)

Summary of the book : from Good Reads

The sweeping story of a powerful Egyptian family, Nefertiti: A Novel tells the tale of two sisters, the first of whom is destined to rule as one of history’s most fascinating queens.

Beautiful Nefertiti and her sister, Mutnodjmet, have been raised far from the court of their aunt, the Queen of Egypt. But when the Pharaoh of Egypt dies, their father’s power play makes Nefertiti wife to the new and impetuous king. It is hoped she will temper King Amunhotep’s desire to overturn Egypt’s religion, but the ambitious Nefertiti encourages Amunhotep’s outrageous plans instead, winning the adoration of the people while making powerful enemies at court. Younger yet more prudent, Mutnodjmet is her sister’s sole confidant, and only she knows to what lengths Nefertiti will go for a child to replace the son of Amunhotep’s first wife.

As King Amunhotep’s commands become more extravagant, he and Nefertiti ostracize the army, clergy, and Egypt’s most powerful allies. Then, when Mutnodjmet begins a dangerous affair with a general, she sees how tenuous her situation is at her own sister’s court. An epic story that resurrects ancient Egypt in vivid detail, Nefertiti: A Novel:

Things I liked about this book:

Michelle Moran’s imaginative narrative is the best  part of the book. It is also good that she choses Mutny and not Nefertiti herself to tell the tale. As a silent onlooker of the troubled times of Egypt she is  very believable character and a vivid describer of events that unfold.

Secondly , the sisters characters are very well written. The sharp contrast among them is the highlight of the book. One wants immortal fame , power , supremacy while all the younger one needs  is a quite life and someone to love.  The Other Boleyn Girl do I hearing you saying that? 🙂  If you liked that one you will love Nefertiti.

Thirdly , in a book with such strong female presence Moran hasn’t forgotten to give us an insight into the mind of the Pharoah Amunhotep. We see a monarch with complex mental make up in matters of state as well as his family.

Things I disliked about the book : None

On my rating scale : 5 out of 5

I have read selected books in Historical Fiction genre and I know if there one author whom I would like to read again ,it would be Michelle Moran. I have her other book The Heretic Queen on hold in the library.

Challenges for which the book is listed : None

Source : Personal Copy

Comments
  1. sumanam says:

    Thanks for popping by my blog earlier.
    Awesome review, this is going on my tbr pile.Fascinating story.

  2. Jenners says:

    I think I read one other review of this book and they said it was very similar to “The Other Bolelyn Girl” too! they still like it though. I’m not a big historical fiction reader though … but maybe I should give it a try. So many people just rave about these books.

    • docshona says:

      You should definitely give it a try. I wasn’t too a big a fan of historical fiction either , prior to this had read a few titles but this one is really good. Now I want to read more of hist-fic.

  3. Veens says:

    oh no no no! You are not to do short review for this one 😛
    I want to read more 🙂 Yo are right, I really like that she didn’t us e Nefertiti. i m afraid I would not have liked it, if it was she who was talking 🙂
    Try Cleopatra’s Daughter, I am sure you will love it too!

    I need to get to the Heretic Queen one of these days!

    I read ths one last month I guess.. LOVED it. Became an instant Fan of Moran 😉
    http://nidhiveens-loveforbooks.blogspot.com/2009/08/nefertiti-by-michelle-moran.html
    [my review]

    • docshona says:

      I had earlier read ur review and thought of reading this book Veens. I too wanna read all her books. Hope I can get to them soon.

  4. I’m glad you loved this one as much as I did. I loved all of Moran’s books, actually. 🙂

    –Anna

  5. Bookjourney says:

    Loved The Other Boleyn Girl! I need to read this!