Quick Review – Life As We Knew It

Posted: November 6, 2009 in Quick Reviews
Tags: , , ,

life+as+we+knew+it

Book: Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer

Category : Science Fiction , Young Adult

Protagonists : Miranda

Summary of the book : When a meteor collision on the surface of the moon puts it in an orbit closer to earth, life on earth is never the same again. The shift in the moon’s orbit leads to catastrophic calamities on earth. Miranda,our narrator through her journal entries gives a peek into her life during that period starting from a time when everything was normal .A carefree  teenager  gets transformed into a struggler for survival against nature’s fury. Everyday brings forth new problems ,those of food shortage , health issues and depression. A story of how a single event can turn our life upside down , the unpreparedness and how will people cope with it forms the crux of this wonderfully written book.

Things I liked about this book:

The style of writing in form journal entries. Reading it in a different form would have just been like an account of what calamities occurred and who died and description of all that, thus making it a more difficult read. But this style  gives us a look in to this teenager’s mind .A mind full of doubts and questions. Doubt as to whether they will have a tomorrow or is this the last daylight . A mind that should have been preoccupied with high school gossip, boys, dresses .A mind which is now  forced to think of saving food so that they have enough for the days to come.Miranda’s transformation is seen as you reach her final entries.She is more mature , she more determined and most importantly she is more hopeful .Hopeful of a life in these difficult times.
Things I disliked about the book :

I can’t say I disliked anything  in it but it did scare me a little . I have always been scared of watching  movies like Deep Impact and Armageddon . Good thing about this book was that , it was  more about Miranda’s  survival rather than the meteor strike or the calamities. The collision was used as an instrument to tell us their story.

On my rating scale : 4.5 out of 5

I must thank Tricia for bringing this book to my notice by her wonderful review.

Challenges for which the book is listed : None

Source : Library

Comments
  1. Veens says:

    I am with you, I am scared to watch 2012, that’s releasing shortly:)

    This sounds like an exciting read, but i m not sure if i will pick it up.

    • docshona says:

      I got scared watching the trailer. No such himmat to go and watch it in the theater . I ll probably cry 🙂 seriously 🙂

      But don’t worry book isn’t scary. It actually full of hope.

      • Veens says:

        That sounds good then! Rest assured no one is gong to drag me to the theaters to see 2012 😀

  2. Pratima says:

    Never heard of this book! I like your new format of the reviews…looks very organized and neat 🙂

  3. diane says:

    I’m happy to see you enjoyed this one as I had it on my wish-list. thanks for the review.