Quick Review -Oliver’s Story

Posted: November 16, 2009 in Quick Reviews
Tags: , , ,

2633226

Book : Oliver’s Story by Erich Segal

Category : Romance ( Not exactly)

Protagonist: Oliver Barrett IV

Summary of the book : from the dust jacket of the book

Oliver Barrett IV found the love of his life in Jenny Cavilleri. And though the time they spent together was brief, it was enough to last a lifetime. Or so Oliver told himself. Living without her for two years now, he still believes he will never love again. Until the day he meets a beautiful and mysterious woman, and suddenly the future seems very different than Oliver thought it would be.

Things I liked about this book: ( Can’t say I liked any thing so I am just giving my views )

I wanted to like this book , I really did . I had absolutely loved Love Story ( ya,ya I know , the tear jerking romantic story ) I knew this book couldn’t be as phenomenal as Love Story. Some books have that kind of impact but I had definitely expected something atleast close to the first book.I was throughly disappointed.

The book fell short on reasoning and realism. As a reader I just couldn’t identify with Oliver’s decisions. He was too much in love with his first wife Jenny  , granted .But he doesn’t want to take a step forward in to a new life. He doesn’t realise that not every person is alike  and not every girl is Jenny. Oliver just couldn’t handle the fact that Marcie has different prioroties in life. All he does is try to find her  in Marcie. I would have left the book within a few pages , had it not been for the curiosity of knowing what happens to Oliver eventually.  Wrong decision Shona. Should have left the book at the time I thought I had enough of over the board romance and cheesy emotions  🙂 Take my advice , go read Love Story and forget that the book has any sequel . Ok?

On my rating scale : 2 out of 5 ( I would have said 1 but Erich Segal is one of my fav authors)

Challenges for which the book is listed : None

Source : Personal Copy

Comments
  1. Jenn says:

    What a disappointment! Kind of like the sequel to Gone With the Wind, some stories just need to end where they do.

  2. Veens says:

    I cannot believe I totally forgot that I have to read Love Story.. well thank u for the warning… will not pick it up 🙂