South Asian Author Challenge

Posted: November 16, 2009 in Challenges 2010, South Asian Author Challenge
Tags: ,

South Asian Author Challenge is being hosted by Swapna at S.Krishna’s Books.

This challenge is to encourage people to read books by South Asian Authors – South Asia being India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka.  The books can be from any time period, contemporary or classic.

Duration Of The Challenge : January 1, 2010 – December 31, 2010

My commitment level for the challenge would be 10 books. ( I do have a huge stack of books by South Asian Authors , so Iguess I can pull it off 🙂 )

Book List – Here are a few books on top of my mind and I plan to update the list  as and when I read the books

1. Between The Assassinations by Aravind Adiga

2  Swami And Friends by R.K. Narayan

3  Mahashweta by Sudha Murthy

4  Water by Bapsi Sidhwa

5

6

7

8

9

10

I am really very excited about this challenge. Thanks to Swapna , now can reduce  quite a few books from my TBR pile  and read those authors whose books I have piled up but haven’t had a chance to read.

Comments
  1. Veens says:

    Wow… I am still thinking about the books I will need. So i am thinking!

  2. I really want to join this challenge too, but I don’t know which books to pick. I love books set in India, but I haven’t read anything from other South Asian countries. I haven’t even heard of the authors you’ve picked (apart from #1), so I need to do a lot more research.

  3. Kals says:

    I’m joining this challenge too! I have ‘Between the Assassinations’ on my list as well. Mahashweta is a beautiful book =)