Tearjerkers – My List

Posted: November 18, 2009 in Random Musings
Tags: ,

Yesterday after I reviewed If I Stay by Gayle Forman , I sat back and thought about the books that actually made me cry when I was reading them. I am pretty emotional when it comes to movies and cry like a baby but very few books have managed to have that effect. So here’s my list of books which caused me to have an emotional outburst irrespective of the place where I was reading them.

Black Beauty by Anna Sewell :

have cried every time I have read this book. It was a childhood fav and still is. I have such an emotional attachment with the  book that I still have my first copy of the book which I was bought  when I was 10 yrs old.

Before I Die by Jenny Downham [Review]

This is one of those books that I took without any high expectations but was so drawn into the story that I would recommend it to all. You will need a box of tissues to control those tears though 🙂

Love Story by Erich Segal:

This is one book I take with me while I travel.After 10 years this still has the effect it had when  had Iread   it for the first time. Jenny and Oliver and their love story always makes a wonderfully tears filled read.

I Stay by Gayle Forman: [Review]

I reviewed it yesterday so you pretty much know what I thought and went through while reading this great book. Absolutely  great book with emotions wonderfully  painted.

Book Thief by Markus Zusak :

Thinking of this book I start getting this crushing feeling and I really feel if  people haven’t read a book as good as this they are missing something very important.Read it.

Comments
  1. wordlily says:

    Wow, that’s a pretty short list! 🙂 I’ve only read Black Beauty, but I agree on that one, definitely a tearjerker.

    • docshona says:

      Ya , I do agree it’s pretty short but these were on top of my mind. I guess I don’t cry so much while reading as I do with movies 🙂

  2. Vasilly says:

    The only book I’ve read on your list is The Book Thief. I cried like a baby with that book even though I tried not to!

  3. Nicole says:

    Black Beauty is definitely a tearjerker. A lot of the YA/animal books from back in the day are. I remember being all broken up over Sounder, Where The Red Fern Grows and Call of The Wild to name a few.

  4. Eva says:

    Black Beauty made me sob too! But the book I cried the MOST about when I was a kid was Where the Red Fern Grows. OMG-I still well up thinking about it.

    The Book Thief made me cry too.

  5. Alyce says:

    The last book that made me cry was Bridge to Terabithia. I’m one of the few that didn’t like Black Beauty. I just thought the whole thing was too depressing when I read this as a kid (all of the stuff the horse went through), but then I wasn’t really ever into horses as a kid.

    I still have The Book Thief on my shelf. I must make time for this one within the next year.

  6. Bookjourney says:

    I totally agree on Book Thief. A fantastic read!

  7. Veens says:

    I am definitely not reading these books 😀
    J/k! i can’t believe I have not read any of the books you mention here!