After The Wreck,I Picked Myself Up, Spread My Wings And Flew Away

Posted: November 21, 2009 in Reviews
Tags: , ,

Book :After The Wreck,I Picked Myself Up, Spread My Wings And Flew Away by Joyce Carol Oates

From the dust jacket :

In the raw was how the world felt now. My feelings were raw, my thoughts were raw and hurtful like knife blades. . . . In the blue had been my place to hide, now In the raw there was nowhere to hide.

Jenna Abbott separates her life into two categories: before the wreck and after the wreck. Before the wreck, she was leading a normal life with her mom in suburban New York. After the wreck, Jenna is alone, trying desperately to forget what happened that day on the bridge. She’s determined not to let anyone get close to her—she never wants to feel so broken and fragile again.

Then Jenna meets Crow. He is a powerfully seductive enigma, and Jenna is instantly drawn to him. Crow is able to break down the wall that Jenna has built around her emotions, and she surprises herself by telling him things she hasn’t told anyone else. Can Jenna bring herself to face the memories she’s tried so hard to erase?

My Review:

After reading Joyce Carol Oates’s We Were The Mulvaneys , I wanted to read more of her books. Though I had a lots of choices I picked up this one as it was targeted towards Young Adults. I am getting attracted to YA books lately and also because I had heard that this book goes at an amazing speed . Just because it is a fast read doesn’t make it a light read.

I liked the way Jenna’s feelings were portrayed . The guilt about being alive, thought of having to live with her estranged father and his new family, thoughts of leaving the home she shared with her mom and all the security she felt before the wreck which she sees dwindling away. Jenna’s inner voice was unique. She knows what lies ahead of her and is also head strong about her choices.A quality not very common in teenagers and that too in  the ones who have gone through such a  devastating accident.

Jenna’s attraction towards Crow was given a very mature treatment . Her mistrust for everyone else who isn’t her  and her eventual transition to learning to trust and open up to Crow made it a recommendable book to all YA fans.

I must say I was very surprised (though pleasantly) with the way , she ended the book. Wasn’t something I had expected but still something very honest and real .  I can’t wait to read another book written by Joyce Carol Oates.

Highly recommended

 

Comments
  1. Alyce says:

    I haven’t read anything by Joyce Carol Oates, but this looks like an excellent book to start with. I’m going to add this one to my wish list.

  2. sumanam says:

    I have never read any book of Joyce carol Oates, but I wil sure check her out, more piling up on my wish list.

  3. Veens says:

    I would love to try this author as well! This book sounds good to me! And you are right, YA is addictive!