The day I went to the Used Bookstore

Posted: November 21, 2009 in Random Musings
Tags:

Today when I decided to go shopping with my sister , we  had no intention of a detour to the bookstore but it’s all pre written, destined  as  they say 🙂 and we happened to come across a second-hand bookstore ,just like that.  Out of curiosity we went in. Now , I will save you the rest of my tiresome story telling and tell you what we bought 🙂

If I had known I could get such great books at throwaway prices, I wouldn’t have spent a chunk of my salary on the books I got for myself last month. (though with tattered covers and some pencil scribblings and ink blots these books are good bargains as they don’t have these in my library  . Just wait till I figure out who  all had owned  these book  previously, then I am going to  go and give them my often repeated  lecture  on how to treat  books. )

This book store was a treasure trove and I am definitely going there for more , lot more . Now, between us we bought 15 great  books for about 1000 bucks. Can you believe that.( Here , we get new books for an amount of  400 or more each book , rarely less than 200 bucks ) Money well spent I must say .

Only thing was we just rushed to our room with the bag . Otherwise we would have to hear about how we are taking up all the  shelf space in the house by buying more and more books when we have enough for a lifetime  🙂

Suzanne’s Diary For Nicholas by James Patterson

Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie

The Death Of Ivan Lynch and Other Stories by Leo Tolstoy (this is the one with lots of ink blots )

The Gravedigger’s Daughter by Joyce Carol Oates ( earlier owner’s name written all over the cover and over the top of the pages 😦 Don’t like it when anyone does that )

How I Taught My Grandmother And Other Stories by Sudha Murthy ( In great condition , looks new)

High Fidelity by Nick Hornby ( Pages are coming apart but I wanted to read this one 🙂  )

Family Matters by Rohinton Mistry ( I guess this had more than one owner )

Dollar Bahu by Sudha Murthy ( Cover is come off 😦  )

Love In The Time Of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

The Birth Of Venus by Sarah Dunant ( This was the costliest book , in excellent condition)

Rape , A Love Story by Joyce Carol Oates ( My guess is they read it while eating , food stains  )

Gathering by Anne Enright ( Previous owner has even made notes 🙂 )

Chasing Harry Winston by Lauren Weisberger (  Sis got this and has already started reading )

Sisters by Danielle Steel ( This is again my sister’s book , I might borrow it from here )

The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat by Oliver Sacks ( Tattered pages , scribbling all over the top columns but I wanted to read it and my library didn’t have this , so I got it )

Comments
  1. bermudaonion says:

    It sounds like you got some great deals. I went into a used bookstore the other day with a list and came out with 3 books – none of them were on my list, though. Happy reading.

  2. Tricia says:

    I love used bookstores. But I had to limit myself because I can get carried away. 🙂 Congrats on the great deals.

  3. Eva says:

    What fun! I love Sacks and Marquez. 😀

  4. Nish says:

    Wow! terrific haul…I love used book stores, I especially love when previous readers mark up their copies, it is sometimes fun and illuminating to read their comments 🙂

    Btw, could you pass on the name of this book store to me?

  5. Bookjourney says:

    I love book sales! You have some great reads! Szanne’s Diary for Nicholas I read in one sitting – fantastic! Sisters by Danielle Steel was awesome too. Enjoy!

  6. Jenn says:

    Wow, you picked up some great books! What finds! (and yes you should find that person and give them a lecture!)

  7. That is a fantastic selection of books you have there! I have a massive TBR pile problem simply because I buy too many second hand books – who can resist a cheap book?!

  8. Veens says:

    I won’t blame you, I will do exactly this 😦

  9. priyaiyer says:

    wow! that sounds wonderful..

    The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat by Oliver Sacks – sounds too good and something i would love to try out… 🙂 first time i heard this title..

    used book stores are always good.. sometimes you find some really good books at throwaway prices, as you say.. and u can save loads of money and buy more books 🙂 patience is required to search, though!