Living Dead Girl by Elizabeth Scott

Posted: November 23, 2009 in Reviews
Tags: , ,

scott

Summary from Goodreads:

Once upon a time I was a little girl who disappeared.
Once upon a time my name was not Alice.
Once upon a time I didn’t know how lucky I was.

When Alice was ten, Ray took her away from her family, her friends — her life. She learned to give up all power, to endure all pain. She waited for the nightmare to be over.
Now Alice is fifteen and Ray still has her, but he speaks more and more of her death. He does not know it is what she longs for. She does not know he has something more terrifying than death in mind for her.
This is Alice’s story. It is one you have never heard, and one you will never, ever forget.

My Review:

I loved Elizabeth Scott’s Something, Maybe . It was one of my best reads for the year 2009 so I didn’t bother to see the dust jacket summary before starting this book , though I suspected that the book wasn’t a happy one nothing prepared me for what was coming in form of this small book. My suspicion was proved right  within 2 pages in to the book.I

I had highly recommended Something, Maybe to one and all but when it comes to Living Dead Girl , I think I would be much more careful with recommendations. .

Ok, you must be feeling I am going on the negative side with the review for this book.Absolutely not. This is a very powerful book. Scott skills as YA author is  already proved but with this  book she has risen a notch in my opinion. She has handled a subject  which would be difficult to pen down , difficult to read and discuss in to a book for Young Adults ( I would say preferably 16 yrs and above ) A book which needs to be read , to understand what goes through the mind of a child who has been abused for years together . You need to read it to understand how some very simple clues are missed out by people who happen to see the predator with their victims. It’s always right out but we fail to see it or rather prepare our minds to think otherwise .

Alice is so well sketched out that you just feel for her from the first page. I was desperately wanting for Alice to realize that she can help herself , get out of there , tell people what has been happening with her  but when you realize why she isn’t going to do that,you don’t get angry at her, you just pray for some miracle to happen. Such is the power of this book.

I would recommend it with a piece of caution please read  it knowing that it isn’t a pleasant read but an absolutely powerful dark book which needs to reach a larger audience.

Recommended audience : Above 16 years , (lots of scenes are very descriptive about the abuse )

My Rating : 4.5 out of 5

Comments
  1. sagustocox says:

    Sounds like an interesting book. I might like it. Thanks for the honest review

  2. sumanam says:

    Thanks for an honest review.

  3. bermudaonion says:

    I can imagine this isn’t a pleasant read because the cover is rather disturbing. Great review.

  4. Divya says:

    honest review.. I wonder if I can handle it. will put it on the wish list though

  5. Nymeth says:

    Everyone tells me what a painful read this is, but one of these days I’m going to have to pick it up.

  6. Veens says:

    I awfully want this one! Awesome review!

  7. historyofshe says:

    Oh, yikes, how sad this sounds!

  8. Heather says:

    I thought this book was deeply moving but extremely heavy. It was a difficult read but well worth it.

  9. Nish says:

    This sounds like a really scary book. I think I am going to skip this one.

    Thanks for the honest review!

    I see you have gone back to your old theme again 🙂

  10. aylanilikewow says:

    this is a really good book. i read it and it was really sad to read. i would rate this book a ten!