Archive for November 29, 2009

Divine Secrets Of Ya-Ya Sisterhood

Posted: November 29, 2009 in Movies, Reviews
Tags: ,

Today being a holiday , I decided to rent a movie to watch. As I was flipping through the movie library I found this one and decided it would be worth watching. Though I am yet to read the book by Rebecca Wells I rented it. I usually do it the other way round , where in I read the book and then watch the movie . This time I decided to do it differently. Well, what do I say , I loved the movie. Actually I cried a little laughed a lot and had fun not worrying if the movie had stayed true to the book 🙂 I didn’t know , so I didn’t care.

Divine_Secrets_of_the_Ya-Ya_Sisterhood_film 

Sandra Bullock stars as Siddalee Walker , who is a playwright and whose interview to Time magazine goes awfully bad in print much so, her description of her mother  Vivianne (played by Ellen Burstyn )and Siddalee’s unhappy childhood. Though Sidaa tries to explain  to her mother ,an over emotional , melodramatic woman Vivi, refuses hear her out leading to  similar emotional response from Sidaa who refuses to invite her mother to her wedding.

The task of bringing peace is taken up by Vivianne’s lifelong friends . These four women Vivi , Teensy , Caro and Necie are the Ya-Ya s . A sisterhood they had formed as children , they have been friends all their lives and know each other well enough to make Sidalee understand why her mother is the way she is and why Sidalee’s childhood had the streaks of unhappiness which she blames her mother for. Great acting and some really good humor component makes it a  thoroughly enjoyable fare.

The story unfolds smoothly while going back and forth between Vivi and Siddalee’s childhood but the narrative never falters.Ashley Judd as  young Vivi does a great job.  You can call it a chick flick but it is definitely more than that.

My Rating : 4.5 out of 5

Have you watched this movie?

How did you like it?