Chick Flick Weekend

Posted: November 30, 2009 in Movies
Tags:

I am sorry this post is coming a little late . I wanted to post it yesterday but was so immersed in reading ” Names My Sisters Call Me ” by Megan Crane that I forgot .

A really non productive Sunday as far as reading goes. But did lots of other stuff that was fun like cleaning my room (ya , I turn into a cleanliness freak when I get yelled at by mom early in the morning 🙂 ) , cleaning my book shelf  while watching Devil Wears Prada and Legally Blonde I on DVD back to back for like the nth time  , gorging on great South Indian food that mom made for us seeing that we were working like maniacs trying to bring a balance into our room. I call it a Sunday well spent.

I watched three chick flicks this weekend including The Divine Secrets Of Ya Ya Sisterhood.

 

The_Devil_Wears_Prada_main_onesheet

Love the way Meryl Streep says “That’s all”. I cannot think of  anyone else who could say that with more cynicism or should I say that devilish charm .She is a perfect Miranda Priestly , the hot shot , always demanding , never relenting editor- in-chief of Runway . Anne Hathway comes off a little unsure in the role of Andrea .I liked Andrea  Sachs from the book . She was more real. The best in this movie would be Emily Blunt as Emily , the senior assistant  to Miranda who is Andy’s senior . The movie was much milder than the book. At times  I try to imagine what if  it had the kind of ending the book did , how would that have worked out?

With all the faults I find in this movie after comparing it to the book, it still rates as a 5 starrer in my chick flick list. I can watch it any number of times. Do you want to know the exact number of times I have watched this one 🙂 26 times 😉

Did you like this movie? What did you think about the movie ending in comparison to the book’s ending?

Comments
  1. bermudaonion says:

    I haven’t seen the movie, but I did read the book. I’ve actually heard that the movie is better.

  2. priyaiyer says:

    i haven’t seen the movie – the devil wears prada, but i hav read the book… and i loved it.. especially the ending 🙂 cant imagine any other more appropriate ending to the story than the one in the book 🙂

  3. Jenners says:

    I agree with you … the movie was much milder than the book! I got so tired and stressed reading the book because her job was so crazy and demanding. But I loved Meryl Streep in the role … she can do no wrong as an actress! I think I liked the book better in this case … but the movie wasn’t awful by any means.

  4. 26 times?! Wow! I never re-watch films. I did enjoy watching the Devil Wears Prada, but I haven’t read the book. I don’t normally like reading chick lit, but I do enjoy watching a few chick flicks.

    I haven’t seen or read Ya Ya Sisterhood – I need to correct that soon!

  5. Vasilly says:

    I’ve read the book and watched the movie. I can’t remember the ending of the book, but I remember the movie’s ending. I prefer the movie to the book.

  6. Veens says:

    God girl u r CRAZY. 26 times LOL!

    I actually really loved this one, but didn’t have the chance to see it so many times 🙂

    Another one I really liked was 27 Dresses, did u see it! I actually liked it a lot.

  7. Pins N Ashes says:

    I’ve read the book n watched the movies… oh yes Meryl Streep is the perfect Ms. Priestly… n emily, oh! when I feel hungry, I have a cube of cheese! poor thing…

    N I love Legally blond 1:)))
    :)))

  8. Nish says:

    Wow! that’s a lot of times to watch this movie.

    But, I too loved this movie- even Anne Hathaway, she looked soo pretty.

    I actually liked the movie better than the book. The characters were more appealing and it was great to actually see Anne’s makeover rather than imagine it 🙂

    I saw the movie first and then read the book. I somehow did not like the book at all! I am currently reading another of Lauren Weisberger’s books, and I am just not getting interested in it. Usually, I love chick-lit books

  9. Aarti says:

    Wow, now I want to know how the book ended! I never read it. I was also surprised by how much I enjoyed the movie- I didn’t think I would. But yes, the acting was great!

    And South Indian food is so, so good 🙂

  10. divya says:

    26 times.. :-0
    Btw did u finish reading ‘reading lolita in teharan’ ? Would like to read your review.. I have been wanting to read it.

    • docshona says:

      Review of that book coming soon Divya. I need atleast 2 days to sit back and write a relaxed review. Otherwise I feel I am too biased and emotional in the review. It is a good book. U must read it

  11. Bookjourney says:

    I love chick flicks. Having two sons and a husband makes my chick flick time rare and I have to get them in when I can. I did see this one and I liked it but havent read the book!