Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi

Posted: December 3, 2009 in Reviews
Tags: ,

Summary from Goodreads:

Wise, funny, and heartbreaking, Persepolis is Marjane Satrapi’s memoir of growing up in Iran during the Islamic Revolution. In powerful black-and-white comic strip images, Satrapi tells the story of her life in Tehran from ages six to fourteen, years that saw the overthrow of the Shah’s regime, the triumph of the Islamic Revolution, and the devastating effects of war with Iraq. The intelligent and outspoken only child of committed Marxists and the great-granddaughter of one of Iran’s last emperors, Marjane bears witness to a childhood uniquely entwined with the history of her country.

My Review:

I haven’t read many graphic novels. Just beginning to explore the genre , so I am not sure if there many memoirs in graphic format but I really liked the way this book turned out.

Marjane Satrapi gives us a close update on what happened to common people during the Revolution in Iran. She sees things changing in school , sees her friends  leaving Iran with their families never to return , sees how the gulf war changed all that people believed about humanity .

It is not preachy. It is the chronicle of her growing up years where she is forced to accept rigorous cultural restrictions in the name of religion . We meet her as a little girl who is very vocal about her opinion, about things around her, a trait she keeps for rest of her life.She is  so inquisitive that her parents have to explain things to her which would have been kept from children her age.We realize she is a rebel from the time she asks if can accompany her parents for the demonstration , she isn’t even 10 at that time. Through her we see how Iran changed , how people were forced to hide their beliefs , change their life style even change the way they thought , if they wanted to live or more importantly wanted to keep their families safe .

I was very impressed with the way , narration held my attention. This is definitely not the best book on Gulf War and the revolution but it is one book which should not be missed out. Satrapi’s Persepolis gives a personal touch to all those subjects ,that  the non fiction books just describe in third person.

Highly Recommended

My Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Comments
  1. historyofshe says:

    I have been hearing about this book a lot lately. I’m glad to know it’s a good one!

  2. Ronnica says:

    I really liked this one as well…I think the graphic novel format is great for memoirs, so I’m checking out more!

  3. bermudaonion says:

    I really enjoyed this book, too, and I learned a lot about the history of Iran when I read it.

  4. Aneet says:

    Persepolis.. I’ve heard a lot about it. I didn’t know it was a graphic novel! There’s even a movie based on this(?).

    Thnx for the compliment about the “Gradstudent” poem. Yes, it’s original but I am not sure if anyone would want to publish it! 😛

  5. flutemom says:

    Persepolis is one of my favorite graphic memoirs. My absolute favorite though is Maus I & II by Art Spiegelman.

  6. Eva says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed this more than me! I read Embroideries by same author last month for the Women Unbound challenge, and I loved it. So I think you shold check that one out more! 🙂

  7. sumanam says:

    I have heard about this book, your review gives me a reason to read it.

  8. Nymeth says:

    This is such a brilliant book. I’m so glad you enjoyed it 😀 And hooray for beginning to explore graphic novels! Does that mean you’ll join the challenge I’m hosting next year? 😛

  9. Jenners says:

    I’ve heard a lot about this book but this is a genre I’ve never tried. Might give it a go though.

  10. Bookjourney says:

    How interesting! The topic of Iran draws me in!

  11. Veens says:

    I have to read this someday. I mean this is one of those books that everyone likes and wants to read and your reviews makes me feel, I need t get it too.