Plan Of Action

Posted: December 15, 2009 in Random Musings
Tags:

How much time do you take to write a review ,after you are done reading a book? I know that some of you  write it immediately on finishing the book while others take time. I come  in the second category. I have never been able to write a review as soon as I finish the book. I need the book to sink in . It takes me some time to be able to view it impartially. Once I have emotionally detached myself from the characters and the plot I write my review. Though I find my reviews better done this way, this method has a small glitch. I have loads of books for which I have to write reviews yet :)  Some really good books I read in 2009 are yet to be reviewed thanks to this week’s gap I give for writing my reviews and completely forget about it due to the number of books I read in a week . So I decided I need to take some discreet steps to tackle this situation at least for the coming year .So here it is :-

Plan of action :

1. Review of the books read , to be completed within 7 days of reading it ( I plan to use Google Calender to schedule this )

2. To take care of any back log on Sunday ,may be write short reviews for some books so that all my Read pile is covered for the week .

3. Immediately add the review to my Goodreads account ( I have been doing it but I think I need to be more systematic about this )

4. Update  the Spreadsheet of books read ,I have maintained for so quite some time now.

4. Maintain a Spreadsheet of my Challenges and  books read for those  and update it every week so that I know where I stand in respect to the numerous challenges I have signed up for πŸ™‚

5. Also update my Ning Group Page

6. Lastly , I will try to stick to my present template πŸ™‚ I know I pretty much changed it every alternate day for last few weeks but I was experimenting πŸ™‚ and I think I have found the one I want to keep .

That must do well for the blog . I think I pretty much covered it all. Let me see how well I stick to these lofty goals πŸ™‚

Now for some reading goals.

All the posts on reading goals for 2010 on various blogs I follow, got me thinking about my reading habits. I am very moody and choosy about the books I read and rarely diversify . I think it’s time I change that . I need to pick up some new genre for 2010. I discovered YA this year and let me tell you it is a wonderful genre  . Similarly I plan to add Memoirs , Graphic novels , Non Fiction and Historical Fiction in my Reading List. I am anti Vampire Zombie  books but I think I need to get over those prejudices . Yes Veens , I might actually read the whole Twilight series πŸ™‚

 

So, how do you have any resolutions on your reading habits or blog improvements for the coming year ?

Comments
  1. bermudaonion says:

    Great plan! I don’t write my review immediately, but I can’t wait too long or I forget the plot!

  2. Kals says:

    Excellent plan! I do quite a bit of what’s you’ve said ( especially with regards my Goodreads account )I’m not methodical enough for a Spreadsheet though. That’s cool that you’ve had it for long! πŸ™‚

    I write my review as soon as I read the book, lest I forget what I liked/disliked about it. Also..I procrastinate a lot so it’s best to get it done asap πŸ˜€

  3. Jenners says:

    I’m not someone who reviews books right after I read them … partly due to having to “detach” from them (like you said) and party because I’m a procrastinator! I just reviewed a book this past week I read in July! That is too long for sure so I’m trying to get better about this and keep on top of it … as soon as I get my backlog taken care of. I do think part of my problem is that I make the reviews too much work on myself. I’ve ben experimenting with using different review formats and writing shorter reviews and that has helped tremendously. I’m hoping to get a bit better about reviewing in 2010 so we’ll see how that goes.

    Good luck with your goals and I like how you blog looks!

  4. divya says:

    Nice plan! I prefer writing reviews as soon as I finish, when its fresh and I am still basking in the aura of the story. The other problem is, I never like finishing a book and not having a new one to start off on immediately. I like the spreadsheet idea!

    Btw, I joined the graphic novel challenge too! πŸ™‚

  5. sumanam says:

    Wee, your plan does sounds full proof.
    I personally write my reviews within 2-3 days, max 5. If it’s more than that then I really need to go back to the book again to remember certain thing! especially if the book is not too memorable!
    Why did I never think of spreadsheet???? Good idea…
    Talking of resolutions… My blog template is fine by me! but regarding reading, I woild really love to read some of my own books not review copies….

  6. historyofshe says:

    I wish you the best of luck with your new plan!

    I also fall into the second group. I like to wait a while after I finish a book to write the review. The only problem is, however, that I end up waiting too long and can’t exactly remember what I thought about it!

    I think I need to come up with a plan, too. ;p

  7. Eva says:

    Sounds like a great plan! I too don’t write my reviews immediately after finishing, but it means that I’m always behind since I’m already into another book by the time I’m ready to write, so the reviews tend to pile up…

    Also, that’s part of the answer to the question you posted over at my blog – the other part is I’ve been either working or traveling and haven’t gotten around to updating much. 😦 Just got back from a few weeks in Sweden to visit my mum and family and I’ll be heading off for a few weeks in Israel soon too, so there’ll be another little hiatus. πŸ™‚ Hopefully, I’ll get more “regular” after I get back! *x-ing fingers!*

  8. Vasilly says:

    I love your plan. I think I may have to come up with a better reviewing plan. It’s rare for me to review a book after a few days of reading it. That needs to change. I need to be more active in my reading. I need to come up with a few blogging goals. I would love to review more next year.

  9. Swati says:

    Well thought out plan πŸ™‚ I usually review books a day later so that the book has time to sink in and I have absorbed the ideas enough to write…